Advice for the Garnet Demon Portal

Discussion in 'Adventure Discussion and Strategy' started by Vacuity, Apr 24, 2014.

1. Vacuity

Vacuity Ogre

I only started playing about ten days ago, and so have neither a lot of experience, nor a large and diverse deck of cards to draw from. I found The Compass Of Xorr difficult, but succeeded on my second try (the last go of that second try, but still...). I've had to repeat a few individual missions when I found my party was woefully ill-equipped (7 trog wizards? I guess my parry cards aren't going to be much use), but generally I haven't found it too hard.

But I cannot break through the Garnet Demon Portal. I haven't even got as far as the second mission; I've been wiped on the first mission twice now and can't see anything in my deck of equipment that would make things play out better.

I have an elf wizard, a human warrior and a dwarf priest. All at level 11. I'd like to get more items to use, but in all honesty I'm really bad at multiplayer: I can normally score a few points between locations and perhaps one kill, but I lose far more than I win against real people, so it's a painful and frustrating way to get better loot. I can't skip this mission as it's the only one available that I haven't completed.

After getting stuck, I started levelling another group of two wizards and a priest, as my impressions from multiplayer games has been that wizards are somewhat OP, and so are my best chance to break through. Is this a sound plan? The loot from the Mauve Manticore fights seems to be from Lvl1-18, so are they a good way to pick up a little extra equipment that might be handy?

Does anyone have any general advice for dealing with this particular dungeon?

2. Pengw1n

Pengw1n Moderately Informed Staff Member

I moved the thread for you, would say it's more at home here. :)