Question about League/Rating

Discussion in 'Adventure Discussion and Strategy' started by FinalCheetah, Feb 13, 2016.

1. How does the League matchmaking work? Is it similar to how you're paired in normal ranked matches, where it'll try to pair you with someone of a similar rating? The question popped up in the game chat earlier and now I'm genuinely curious.

2. Jarmo

Jarmo Snow Griffin

League matchmaking pairs players in the league queue. It doesn't matter what their MP ranking is. A 900 will play a 1700, this happens in every league.

I have no official knowledge of this, this is just based on long-time practical obervation.

FinalCheetah likes this.
  3. Yeah see, that's the impression I got from my observations but people are adamant that it isn't the case. In the last league I had fights against 2 17+ rating folks and 2 fights against people below 1000.

4. Kalin

Kalin Begat G'zok

I believe there is some special matching code that tries to set up games for players who haven't played four games yet ahead of players who have.

5. Obernoob

Obernoob Hydra

I think this special matching is not active for the last x minutes of a league. When I play my matches latly, I often get paired against players who already have played their four matches.

6. Happenstance

Happenstance Thaumaturge

My crackpot theory is that a player's current success rate / win % is also taken into account (along with all the other factors already mentioned).

Otherwise, what's to stop a player staying at a very low ELO by only playing league, and then being constantly matched against new players?

7. Jarmo

Jarmo Snow Griffin

You know, high-ranked players are constantly matched against low-ranked players in leagues. Just look at any league while it's running. This is perfectly commonplace. Why would the matchmaking bother with win percentages or any such esoterica when even ranking seems to have no effect?