Simian Reflex did not trigger for a roll

Discussion in 'Bugs' started by jjfoley, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. jjfoley

    jjfoley Mushroom Warrior

    In the Dripping Grave, a Black Ooze hit my tank-type warrior with an Able Bludgeon. My warrior's hand includes four cards:
    - Simian Reflex
    - Run
    - Mail
    - Flimsy Block

    My warrior has Healing Presence attached to him. There are no card attachments on any of my characters, and none on the two oozes or the Armored Skeleton. My warrior is adjacent to the Ooze so he can see him.

    Expected behavior is that Simian Reflexes would give me a chance to draw a card with a 5+ roll, since an enemy I can see has targeted me with an attack.

    Screenshot of the situation included.

    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now jefff2
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,jefff2,Event,PlayAction,Action,Healing Presence
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Attaching Healing Presence to Gronk
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now Gary
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,Gary,Event,PlayAction,Action,Walk
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,Gary,Actor,Glrqurlr,Event,Move,Origin,(3, 5),StartFacing,(-1, 0),Destination,(4, 4),EndFacing,(0, -1)
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,Gary,Actor,Ooglrlqdl,Event,Move,Origin,(10, 4),StartFacing,(0, -1),Destination,(10, 3),EndFacing,(0, -1)
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now jefff2
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,jefff2,Event,PlayAction,Action,Wild Run
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Group,Brady,Event,Discard,Card,Reliable Hide Armor
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,jefff2,Actor,Brady,Event,Move,Origin,(10, 2),StartFacing,(0, 1),Destination,(3, 2),EndFacing,(0, 1)
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now Gary
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,Gary,Event,PlayAction,Action,Able Bludgeon
    Failed to load streaming audio asset: MP3Loader 'audio' (http://game.cardhunter.com:8080/assets//audio/ooze02.mp3)
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Gronk took 3 damage
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now jefff2
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Player,jefff2,Event,PlayAction,Action,Minor Heal
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Gronk healed 2
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now Gary
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=Gary passed.
    BATTLE LOG: AdventureName=Viscous Tombs,Scenario=Dripping Grave,Msg=The active player is now jefff2
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jjfoley

    jjfoley Mushroom Warrior

    I should add that on the next turn, the Ooze attacked with a Small Pseudopod Strike (forcing me to discard my Mail) and my Simian Reflexes correctly rolled (and failed... man that card never seems to hit when I need it).

    I wonder if the fact that there was an armor check the previous turn affected it...
     
  3. Wozarg

    Wozarg Thaumaturge

    Note that line of sight and vision are not the same thing line of sight is where he can aim his spells vision is a cone in front of the character
     
  4. jjfoley

    jjfoley Mushroom Warrior

    Really? Wow, that seems counterintuitive and is news to me. But that would explain it, as the next turn it triggered since I had changed facing to face the Ooze.
    What other cards use the text term Vision instead of Line of Sight and make such a distinction?
     
  5. Wozarg

    Wozarg Thaumaturge

    A card similar to simian reflexes but only triggers on ranged and spells not sure of the name the art is a hand catching a arrow. Also i don't think the card usees vision as a term it was just my way of explaining it the card says something like "a enemy you can see"
     
  6. Sir Knight

    Sir Knight Sir-ulean Dragon

    I think this is misinformation. For instance, which of those "two rules" do Block cards use? If you wanted a shorthand for "you have line of sight to the target," what better way is there than "you can see"? Blocks defend you from enemies you can see, and that's anyone in front or to the sides (the areas highlit in bright green).

    I've been playing on the assumption that this works for Simian Reflexes as well, and I don't see a flood of annoyed players bumping into mixed rules. Those who wrote the Line of Sight article on the wiki certainly use the terms interchangeably.

    So . . . facing problems or bug, I'd say.
     
  7. Sir Knight

    Sir Knight Sir-ulean Dragon

    Double post, but I have more that might be relevant.

    First, yes, I just got Simian Reflexes to trigger from an attack directly to my side. There is no difference between "line of sight" and "vision." And even if there were . . . Wozarg: take a look at the supplied image. The Black Ooze is standing within the cone in front of the Warrior, which is what you described. It wouldn't matter to this report.

    But looking at that image made me realize something. jjfoley, the Black Ooze was diagonally to the front and the left of you, with blocking terrain directly in front of you, right? The recent report I made about a missed Weak Block was in the same situation: my Penetrating Cut was on a goblin diagonally to the front and the left of me, with blocking terrain directly in front. Attacks that DID trigger the block came from FULLY in front, with no diagonal and no blocking terrain.

    Ahem!

    Anyone want to test this?
     
  8. Wozarg

    Wozarg Thaumaturge

    This is my bad i based the information on the fact that Jon asked if my priest was facing his attacker when i thought the quick reflexes card not rolling was a bug. So i made short terrible assumptions and will retract my suggestion of vision and LoS immediately have a nice day!
     

Share This Page