[Feedback] Why I'm stopping playing Card Hunter

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by Pagnarok, Sep 18, 2013.

1. Pagnarok

Pagnarok Kobold

Hello,
    While I've enjoyed most of my initial experience with Card Hunter, chances are I won't be playing anymore. While most of the game is solid, there is a number of problems, in my humble opinion, that range from "quite annoying" to "I won't put up with this". I'm a game developer myself and I know I'd like to know why people are stopping playing my game so I can fix it, so here are my reasons:
    1. I'm bored because every single level 7 battle -- where I'm stuck -- has the exact same pattern: tough enemies with high armor (way better than anything I have available) with ranged melee attacks defeat me over long, boring fights. The late missions of "Beneath the Frozen Earth", "The Throne of Stench" and "Forest of Souls" all end with my characters bashing ineffectively against armored enemies who block 3/4 or 8/9 of my attacks (because they have 2 armor cards in hand). It's long, it's tedious and it lacks variety.
    2. The game punishes you severely for pressing the wrong button. Clicked the wrong card by mistake? Tough. In many cases, you must play that card, there is no undo even if you haven't selected a target to attack or where to move. Forgot to change the equipment of your characters at the same time you were picking the loot? Tough. You can't go back in the menus nor is there any way to change your equipped gear anywhere. If you had the wrong equipment for the quest you'll have to fail the level before you can correct your mistake, which eats one of your retries.