First impressions thread

Discussion in 'Card Hunter General Chat' started by Jon, Jan 2, 2013.

1. I just started playing and the game seems to work really well (it's lots of fun), but I thought I would share some random impressions. This is really minor, but I didn't understand in the first tutorial mission that the kobold in the larder was part of a larger raid and I was really confused why there were sounds of battle in the background. I thought it was just one guy who had a kobold problem. Later on I couldn't find a robe to buy in the level one store (before I unlocked kyburz) and was saddened that I had to keep my wizard using cloth armor cards. I don't know how random the store inventory is, but it would be nice if you always had one item of the types you unlock early.

Finally the AI in some instances didn't work that well. I noticed it especially with the goblin priest in the highway robbery adventure. He would often use the ability that gave a minion another action, but that minion wouldn't attack again. Another time he used a 4-point heal on a goblin that had only taken 1 damage. The AI seems pretty challenging most of the time (it's good at moving trogs out of range of melee and such), but when it makes obvious errors like that it takes you out of the game. It would probably be better for the AI to discard extra action cards instead of using them without any effect, because the player won't have to wonder what the AI is thinking. Again, the difficulty isn't a problem (this game is plenty hard) but the AI needs to avoid making obvious errors.

2. Fixer

Fixer Kobold

My first impression started out beautifully, until I finished the tutorial and started fighting Trogs.