ELO ratings should decrease over time if you are inactive

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by Scared Little Girl, Nov 27, 2013.

1. When the new set of maps arrived, I went from playing 20-25 MP matches a day, to playing almost no MP at all. I've fought human player only twice, while concentrating more on SP and making custom maps. One thing I've noticed is that even though I'm very inactive in MP, my ELO rating staying exactly the same (around 1750), which I think is unfair towards those who have been active. In order to stay at the top of the ratings (or at any level), you should be forced to play frequently to earn that rating. Currently it would be way too easy to just protect your rating by not playing.

I'm not an expert on how ELO ratings work, and I don't know if there is a "right" way of making it decrease over time, but I'll go ahead and post some of my thoughts.

Making ELO decrease 1 point for each day of inactivity, would not help much because you could still cheat by fighting one match against AI each day. I think a better way would be to have a quota that you need to meet in order to avoid rating penalty.

Lets say we had a quota of 20 MP matches per week (based on amount of wins you need to get that purple chest). If the player fights 20 MP matches (win or lose) during the week, his or her rating does not suffer any penalties. But if the player plays for example only 12 matches, his or her ELO rating will drop 8 points at the end of the week (20-12=8). Maybe there could also be a rule that all those 20 matches have to be against human players.

A system like this wouldn't make a huge difference to ratings but at least it would help a bit. Common sense tells us that some kind of system like this has to be implemented.

Anyone has any better ideas?

2. Martin K

Martin K Goblin Champion